Reading In Public

kästner noveltrain rides, for me, have come to mean valuable uninterrupted reading time.  something about the rhythmic sound of wheels over tracks, murmur of quiet conversations, the flurry of people getting on and off heightens my focus and concentration.  on an errand last week, what came along with me was erich kästner’s das fliegende kassenzimmer.

it’s another coming-of-age tale– a group of five boys– classmates and good friends, each facing their own dreams and fears over one christmas season.  rowdy and funny, but at times strikingly touching, this world of boys was an endearing story that’s bound to strike resonance with children and arouse sympathy with adults– a gem to be enjoyed regardless of one’s age.

the downside of becoming absorbed in reading while in public however, is that my feelings appear directly on my face as i read.  wide smiles, furrowed brows.  suppressed tears and ditto, laughter.  it’s as if the mood of the story is reflected in my expression at any given point.  i wouldn’t be surprised if those around me were raising eyebrows and scooting a little ways away…

電車の中での読書タイムは案外集中できるので、重宝しています。先日の外出時はエリッヒ・ケストナーの『飛ぶ教室』がおともでした。

こちらも男の子の成長物語。クラスメートであり、友達である五人組がそれぞれの夢や悩みを抱えながら迎えるあるクリスマスを描いているお話です。わいわいと面白おかしい男の子の世界なのすが、時に表れる素直で切ない気持ちに心打たれます。

子どもとして読むと共感できて、大人として読むと励ましたくなって。年齢問わず楽しめる本です。

でも外で本にのめり込んでしまうと、顔に気持ちがそのまま表れてしまうのが難点。微笑んだり、涙ぐんだり、顔をしかめたり、吹き出したり。それは話の状況が自分の表情に映し出されているよう。周囲はいぶかしげに横目で見ながら〈あやしい人〉と思っているのだろうな、きっと...

This entry was published on February 5, 2017 at 4:49 pm. It’s filed under Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Reading In Public

  1. Hahaha, I can imagine all of the faces you make while reading. I think everyone does this. I know I do. My husband often asks what is going on.

Leave a Reply

