Needles

tulip needles

needles are meant to be replaced periodically, i know.  but when they’re neither broken nor bent… it seemed like such a shame to toss them when they could still be used.  so after every stitching session, i told myself– next time.

but finally, i admitted that my needles have lost their sharp points and luster and made the switch.  and what a world of difference it has made!  i’ve forgotten how smoothly needles can pass through fabric and thread.  and these tulip brand needles that i’m trying this time seem especially so.  i only got my most frequently used size, but i’m eager to try more from their collection of 72 hand sewing needles.

(only 30 types are available with labels in English)

針は消耗品。前から分かっていたけれど、折れてもいないし曲がってもいない...そうだとリタイアさせるのがもったいない!次でいいかな?といつも先送りしていました。

でもしばらく使っていた針たちはくすんでしまったし、刺し味もいまいちになったので、思い切って変えてみました。やっぱり新品は違います!新しい針は刺すときこんなに滑らかなんだ!と感動してしまいました。

今まではクロバーの針を使用していましたが、今度はチューリップ社のものを選びました。ここ数週間使っていますが、先がとてもスムーズに生地や糸を通るので早くも気に入っています。他にも72種類の手縫い針を展開しているので、色々と試してみたいと思います。

This entry was published on October 3, 2014 at 10:16 pm. It’s filed under Embroidery, Handcraft and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
